We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Leeds to Edinburg

1 2 >
no_pro 28 Feb 14:36  

Bike:

Hi.

I was wondering if anybody knows of a good route from leeds to ed.

Looking to do this over the easter break and taking 5 days or so.

First time I will attempt a multi day ride. We are thinking of heading out from the East Coast and up through Newcastle etc to avoid the A1.

Any route ideas would be great!

Ta

txbnet 03 Mar 01:22  

Bike:

My Profile
Hi I have no experience of cycling routes around Leeds, but the NCR 1 goes up the East Coast and I've used it in reverse from Whitley Bay to Scarborough, and I've followed the Coast and Castles route from Edinburgh to Tynemouth (9 miles along the Tyne from Newcastle).

You could head for Hartlepool day one about 75 miles mainly gentle downhills, and pick up the NCR1.

From there, the NCR1 hugs the coastline most of the way and you could do another 70 miles to Warkworth or Alnmouth by the end of day 2 both nice Northumbrian villages where there are bars, eating places and b&bs.

The Coast and Castles route then takes you mainly off road to Berwick, then west to Kelso which you could manage in a further day and is a lovely ride if you follow the blue NCR1 signs and don't take the busy road (60 miles). Kelso has some great stop over deals, we got twin rooms and breakfast for around £25 each with safe bike storage.

The ride from Kelso to Edinburgh (70 miles) is quite challenging but magnificent in its scenery. One hill in the Moorfoots from Innerleithen (good lunch stop) makes you feel like you're going across the top of the world with fantastic views for miles and miles.

So I'd go for four days, three nights out and enjoy!

My Latest Route: Jan 2011 Whitley Bay to Bellingham

tweets72 03 Mar 02:42  

Bike:

Hi,

Take a look on www.sustrans.org.uk - you should be able to download a map of the National Cycle Network which may give you an idea of the best routes to take.